The story of this historic farmstead, now owned by the Highlands at Wyomissing and used as a residential residence, begins with the earliest European settler along the Wyomissing Creek, Welsh “Baptist” Hugh Jones. In 1726, Jones chose the over 1,000 acres originally comprising this homestead. He and his family, including a young son David, moved from Chester County and settled here by 1728.
The earliest section, built in the mid to-late 18th century, forms the kitchen at the rear of the main house. With its large cooking fireplace and attached bake oven/smokehouse complex, this once-freestanding small cabin provides clues to its antiquity with an adze-marked summer beam, massive fireplace foundation, and evidence of a former box-winder staircase.
The newest section encompasses- a master bedroom, master bath and laundry on the first floor. The present occupants appreciate all the modern amenities of their elegant and comfortable home, while enjoying its long history in a sweepingly picturesque setting with the sights and sounds of the gently-flowing Wyomissing creek below.
CCS Building Group and The Highlands at Wyomissing partnered to complete a full renovation of the farmhouse in 2019. The renovation complimented the heritage of the home and updated the amenities to include solid surface countertops, new cabinetry, refinished floors, new windows and doors.
The Highlands at Wyomissing